Click to enlarge

WINGS IN THE NIGHT Robert E. Howard 1st HC

WINGS IN THE NIGHT by Robert E. Howard. Holicong, PA; Wildside Press; 2005. 1st edition hardcover. This latest volume in the planned ten-volume set of The Weird Works of Robert E. Howard collects Robert E. Howard's fiction and prose published in Weird Tales from July 1932 to May 1933. These works represent literary stepping-stones to Howard's infamous Cthulhu mythos stories and his most famous character of all - Conan the Cimmerian - and ably demonstrate that each of Howard's stories improved and added to his formidable skills as a master of fantasy and adventure. Wings in the Night includes "Phoenix on the Sword," the historically important first Conan story, establishing the very unique character of Conan, and sets in place the history and many of the attributes of the Hyborian Age, from which all the later stories would flow. Includes two more Conan stories: "The Scarlet Citadel" and "The Tower of the Elephant!"

Cover by Stephen Fabian.

The volume contains:

Wings in the Night, Arkham, An Open Window, Worms of the Earth, The Phoenix on the Sword, Scarlet Citidel, Cairn on the Headland, Tower of the Elephant, Autumn, Moonlight on a Skull.

Fine in fine dj.

wisp19Regular price: $35.00Sale price: $33.00