THE COSMOLOGY OF A WIDER WORLD Jeffrey Ford 1st HC

THE COSMOLOGY OF THE WIDER WORLD by Jeffrey Ford, intro by Jeff VanderMeer, cover art by Kim Deitch. Hornsea, East Yorkshire, UK; PS Publishing; 2005. 1st edition hardcover Synopsis:

Jeffrey's Ford's extraordinary new fantasy novella, The Cosmology of the Wider World, is a beast epic, a talking animal story in the vein of The Jungle Books and The Wind in the Willows; but this is no ordinary fable. The protagonist, Belius, is a minotaur, a wanderer in strange labyrinths of the mind and body, and his story features sex, drugs and a healthy dose of pyrotechnic metaphysical profundity. There's murder too, an instance of bestiality, and quite a few references to Dante's Inferno...

From his coral tower in the other-dimensional refuge of the Wider World, Belius thinks back on his days in the lesser world of men, where he was born, a shocking anomaly, to a farming couple. His great philosophical work, The Cosmology, is at a standstill, and he realizes he cannot proceed with the book until he comes to terms with his halfling nature: one foot in the human world, one hoof in the animal. While his friends – Vashti, the owl, and Pezimote, a philandering tortoise – try to help him achieve peace of mind, Belius recalls scenes from his previous life, interspersed with the daily tribulations of the Wider World…via a love story, a literal and figurative inner journey, a bloodletting, a haunting by a ghostly apparition, a bet, a blinding, a prophecy, an act of creation, and an act of climactic destruction, he must come at last to a mad revelation of self.

The Cosmology of the Wider World is an exceptional feat of fantastic

Fine in fine dj. Issued in a 200 copy numbered hardcover edition SIGNED by BOTH the author & introducer.


psp101Regular price: $50.00Sale price: $36.00